If I Were a Bird

If I Were A Bird

If I were a bird
I would glide to the sky
I would brush the wispy clouds as I fly by
And then I would dive through wind and breeze
And I would feel the earth as it lives and breathes
I’d slice through the air with fiery wings
And against the white sun I would begin to sing
And through the hush of the air my story would go
Whispering secrets it would blow
Then the the rivers would gurgle and the trees would hiss
Of the dark swirling depths of my soul’s abyss
Gold eyes ablaze and bronze talons alight
To the sun I would soar as it sinks into night
And as my soul burns from it’s scorching heat
My freedom as a bird would be complete
To the Heavens I’d go to finish my song
Melodies drifting all nightlong
And after I died everyone would know
Of the bird who’s eyes would always glow
Who’s secrets were kept locked within
Her flamed wings never to be seen again

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *