I dreamed

I dreamed of the ocean and I dreamed of the sky,

and within the two I dreamed I could fly,

I dreamed of those who are high up above,

and I  hoped and I dreamed of endless love,

and then my dream ended and a nightmare arose,

and everything stopped and everything froze,

I dreamed of violence and horror and tears,

I dreamed of the world as a world of fear,

I dreamed of fire and darkness and light,

and it kept me sobbing all through the night,

then I dreamed of memories at last,

of the comings and the goings all through the past,

and when I woke up I wondered if

my dreams were real, actual things,

If people were bad and I could have wings,

or if they were just dreams within dreams

 

I was inspired to write this poem by-how ironic-a dream. I actually wished all these things. For a while, I dreamed of leaping into the air and flashing bronze wings in the moonlight, showing off my feathers. One time, I was separated from my friend and all I could see in her face was the wild fury of flames in her eyes and the darkness that separated us and the light in her, in us, slowly and painfully fading away. In this poem, I combine all the things cherished, now bittersweet memories. The end, or the conclusion, is a hook. And even though I have already posted this poem and  published it, I still wonder if those things were reality, or my mind slowly drowning in emotions.

8 thoughts on “I dreamed

  1. This is beautiful. There is something very moving in your words. I’m your mentor from SCOTLAND UK and will visit again real soon.

    A
    😉

  2. Thanks! I look forward to your visiting. Did you know this poem won the 22nd (this year’s) Annual Austin International Poetry Festival? I’m very excited. This was my first time entering!
    Again-thanks for commenting! Bye!

  3. LOVE this poem!!!! Your words are so illustrative, expressive, eloquent, meaningful…..I could go on and on with the number of great things that this poem is! Congratulations on getting first place in the poem writing competition! You definitely deserved it!

  4. I agree with Allyson! “I dreamed of violence and horror and tears.” This sentence uses the “magic 3” rule and really contributes to the poem. It has a nice, steady, rhythm and you chose the perfect words! Congrats!

    • Thanks! I think the best part of being a poet is not the writing itself but the ability to share it. When people notice likes instead of differences, we realize that we can appreciate these things, not use it against eachother.

  5. I love this poem! You are very talented! I loved the lines “and when I woke up I wondered if

    my dreams were real, actual things,

    If people were bad and I could have wings,

    or if they were just dreams within dreams”
    Please continue to write more poetry! I am looking forward to it!
    My Blog: http://maesway.edublogs.org/

    • I will continue! I love writing and showing feelings through words. To me, poetry is not an assignment, but a way to release your emotions. I look forward to future comments!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *